BS/MD Programs: Current List and Preparation Guide
Personify6 min read
Families searching for BS MD programs are usually trying to answer two different questions: which direct-entry pathways are active, and whether this demanding route fits their student. The answer is not a ranked list or a single admissions formula. Programs use different names, structures, and progression conditions, and official pages can change. This guide explains the terminology, provides a current verified directory, and points families toward preparation resources without turning activities into a checklist.
What are BS/MD programs?
BS/MD programs are combined baccalaureate-to-MD pathways that admit eligible students from high school into a defined undergraduate and medical-school route. A BA/MD program follows the same general idea but awards a Bachelor of Arts rather than a Bachelor of Science. Institutions may also use baccalaureate/MD, combined medical program, or direct medical program language. Brown, for example, calls its route PLME rather than promising one particular undergraduate degree label.
The label alone does not settle the important questions. Some pathways are six years, some are seven or eight years, and some have a traditional undergraduate timeline. Accelerated describes timing; direct entry describes when a student enters the pathway. They are not synonyms. A standard-length eight-year pathway can still qualify when a student enters through first-year admission and medical-school progression is formally built into the program.
Current verified BS/MD programs list
This is a current verified directory, not a permanently exhaustive list. Each entry was checked independently through a resolving official institution page. The main table contains programs the institutions present as BS/MD, BA/MD, or another combined baccalaureate/MD pathway. It excludes ordinary pre-med, pathways entered only after college enrollment, BS/DO, post-baccalaureate routes, and international medical schools.
| Program | Pathway | State | Official duration | Cycle stated by source | Last verified | Official source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brown UniversityProgram in Liberal Medical Education (PLME) | Baccalaureate/MD | RI | 8 years | Not stated | 2026-08-31 | Program page |
| University of Missouri–Kansas CityB.A./M.D. Program | BA/MD | MO | 6 years | Not stated | 2026-08-31 | Program page |
| Drexel UniversityBA/BS+MD Early Assurance Program | Baccalaureate/MD | PA | 8 years | Fall 2026 applicant information | 2026-08-31 | Program page |
| New Jersey Institute of TechnologyNJIT/NJMS Accelerated BS/MD Program | BS/MD | NJ | 7 years | Not stated | 2026-08-31 | Program page |
| University of ConnecticutSpecial Program in Medicine | Baccalaureate/MD | CT | 8 years | Not stated | 2026-08-31 | Program page |
| University of RochesterRochester Early Medical Scholars (REMS) | Baccalaureate/MD | NY | 8 years | Not stated | 2026-08-31 | Program page |
| Rensselaer Polytechnic InstitutePhysician-Scientist (B.S./M.D.) Program | BS/MD | NY | 7 years | Not stated | 2026-08-31 | Program page |
| Siena UniversitySiena/Albany Medical College Science and Humanities Program | BA/MD | NY | 8 years | Not stated | 2026-08-31 | Program page |
| Penn StatePremedical-Medical, B.S. | BS/MD | PA | 7 years | 2026–27 Undergraduate Bulletin | 2026-08-31 | Program page |
| CUNY School of MedicineSophie Davis Biomedical Education Program | BS/MD | NY | 7 years | High school graduation by June 30, 2026 | 2026-08-31 | Program page |
| University of South Florida7-Year B.S./M.D. Accelerated Program | BS/MD | FL | 7 years | Not stated | 2026-08-31 | Program page |
| Augusta UniversityMedical Scholars Program (BS-MD) | BS/MD | GA | 7 years | Not stated | 2026-08-31 | Program page |
The registry intentionally keeps volatile admissions details off this page. “Not stated” means the official source did not label an application cycle; it does not mean a future cycle is unavailable. Requirements and status can change, so use each linked institution page before applying.
Other high-school-entry conditional medical pathways
Some active programs serve the same search need but are not formally presented as a BS/MD or BA/MD. The separate table below avoids relabeling them. Each accepts students through first-year admission and connects undergraduate study to a named MD school through conditional or guaranteed progression.
| Program | Pathway | State | Official duration | Cycle stated by source | Last verified | Official source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Case Western Reserve UniversityPre-Professional Scholars Program in Medicine | Conditional MD pathway | OH | 8 years | Not stated | 2026-08-31 | Program page |
| Union CollegeLeadership in Medicine | Conditional MD pathway | NY | 8 years | Not stated | 2026-08-31 | Program page |
| University of Illinois ChicagoGPPA Medicine | Conditional MD pathway | IL | Not stated | Not stated | 2026-08-31 | Program page |
| University of Alabama at BirminghamEarly Medical School Acceptance Program (EMSAP) | Conditional MD pathway | AL | 8 years | Not stated | 2026-08-31 | Program page |
UAB EMSAP belongs here, not in the exclusions. UAB explicitly says the program is not accelerated, but students apply during senior year of high school and receive an assured route to its medical school after meeting program requirements. Case PPSP, Union Leadership in Medicine, and UIC GPPA Medicine use similarly distinct institutional language.
BS/MD programs versus related pathways
| Pathway | What it generally means | Why the distinction matters |
|---|---|---|
| Direct-entry BS/MD or BA/MD | Admission from high school into a defined combined baccalaureate and MD pathway | This is the main directory’s inclusion standard |
| Ordinary pre-med | An undergraduate course of study that can prepare a student for later medical-school applications | It does not itself provide a combined MD route |
| Early assurance entered after college enrollment | Medical-school consideration or assurance after a student has matriculated | It is outside this high-school-entry directory |
| BS/DO | A pathway connected to osteopathic medical education | It leads to a DO, not an MD |
| Accelerated MD after college | A medical-school curriculum taken after undergraduate study | It is not a combined high-school-entry baccalaureate/MD pathway |
The inclusion test is therefore about entry and progression, not whether a school uses a particular acronym. A qualifying pathway begins during high-school or first-year admission, names both the undergraduate institution and US MD school, and formally reserves or conditions medical-school progression.
How to compare BS/MD schools without ranking them
“Best BS/MD programs” is not a useful universal category. A strong fit depends on transparent factors a family can investigate:
- Program structure: Is the route accelerated or traditional in length? What is officially stated?
- Undergraduate experience: Does the curriculum, advising model, and academic flexibility fit the student?
- Medical-school progression: What current academic, conduct, testing, or other conditions apply?
- Location and community: Would the student thrive in the undergraduate setting and the associated medical-school environment?
- Cost and aid: What questions should the family ask about undergraduate and medical-school financial planning?
- Eligibility: Are residency, citizenship, testing, or other restrictions stated on the current official page?
The most useful comparison is a family’s own decision table, built from official sources. Avoid calling a program easy, assuming a small cohort means a particular acceptance rate, or treating a past cycle’s rules as a future cycle’s policy. Comparable official acceptance rates are often unavailable.
Preparation for BS/MD programs: the high-level view
Direct medical programs evaluate different evidence in different ways. Still, students often benefit from developing strong academics, intellectual curiosity, service, communication, maturity, and a genuine reason to explore medicine. Research, clinical exposure, and physician shadowing can be meaningful, but none is a universal requirement or a promise of admission.
| Preparation area | A productive question | Useful next resource |
|---|---|---|
| Academics | Is the student pursuing rigor available in their school context and learning from the work? | BS/MD requirements guide |
| Research | Can the student investigate a focused question ethically and explain their contribution? | How to do research in high school |
| Healthcare exploration | What has the student learned about medical work and its limits? | How to shadow a doctor in high school |
| Service and projects | Is the student contributing consistently to a real community need? | Medical extracurriculars for high school students |
A realistic grade-by-grade starting point
In middle school, explore interests, build habits, and let curiosity lead; there is no need for premature résumé pressure. In ninth grade, students can try science, service, and communication activities while building consistency. In tenth grade, they can narrow toward a few interests and begin deeper work. In eleventh grade, sustained responsibility, reflection, and accurate evidence matter more than adding disconnected titles. During rising senior and senior year, verify each program’s current rules, organize applications, and represent every contribution honestly.
For a deeper preparation framework—including research, service, clinical exposure, essays, interviews, and readiness—the BS/MD requirements guide owns that topic.
How Personify can support thoughtful pre-med planning
Personify helps students in grades 6–12 turn a genuine interest into a focused, well-executed project and preparation roadmap. Students work one-on-one with a dedicated admissions expert and a field-expert project mentor who supports execution. The goal is not to manufacture a medical résumé; it is to help a student develop authentic work they can explain.
Next step
Ready to help your child stand out?
Book a free 15-minute consultation to explore project options.
Frequently Asked Questions
The undergraduate degree differs: BS/MD programs pair a Bachelor of Science with an MD pathway, while BA/MD programs pair a Bachelor of Arts with an MD pathway. The academic structure and progression conditions are set by each institution.
No. Some direct-entry pathways are accelerated, while others retain a traditional undergraduate timeline. Families should confirm the official program structure rather than infer it from the label.
Programs may offer a defined pathway to medical school, but progression can depend on program-specific academic, conduct, testing, or other conditions. Confirm the current terms directly with each institution.
There is no universal ranking. Compare structure, undergraduate and medical-school fit, curriculum flexibility, progression conditions, location, cost and aid, and current eligibility rules.
Students can start exploring science, service, and healthcare interests early, without forcing a medical résumé. By high school, sustained academics, reflection, and focused commitments can help a student assess fit.
Related articles
Aug 31, 2026 · 12 min read
How to Get Into a BS/MD Program: Requirements Guide
Learn how to get into a BS/MD program with practical guidance on academics, research, service, fit, essays, interviews, and planning.
Aug 31, 2026 · 12 min read
Medical Extracurriculars for High School Students Guide
Compare medical extracurriculars for high school students, including service, research, shadowing, and projects, with safe planning steps.
Aug 31, 2026 · 10 min read
How to Shadow a Doctor in High School: Practical Guide
Learn how to shadow a doctor in high school with respectful outreach, observer boundaries, privacy safeguards, and realistic alternatives.